Gluten-Free Tip: Substitute Dry Mustard for Prepared Mustard

I am not happy with the cake I was going to share with you today so I decided to share a gluten-free cooking tip instead. Most mustards contain gluten because the vinegar they use contains gluten. However, dry mustard is gluten free. So if a recipe calls for prepared mustard, you do not have to go out and buy special gluten-free mustard, just substitute 1/2 of the amount called for with dry mustard. For example, if the recipe calls for 2 teaspoons of prepared mustard replace it with 1 teaspoon of dry mustard.

Yum

Comments

  1. Iris says

    I always get the most interesting tips from you, and somehow they end up coming in handy shortly thereafter. There must be a recipe with mustard in my future.

  2. Laura says

    I am interested to hear you say that "most mustards contain gluten"…are you sure about this? Vinegars are all gluten free except for malt vinegar.Hope I am right, since we use mustard! Laura

  3. Alea says

    It is my understanding that most white vinegars are made from a 5% acetic acid solution, which is derived from grains, and mixed with water.

    Most mustards just say they use vinegar and do not state what type. I try to use products clearly state that they contain apple cider vinegar or rice vinegar.

    That being said, everybody has different levels of tolerances and just because a product states that it only contains vinegar does not necessary mean that it is one derived from grain.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>